June in August

I am going to stick to my word, and actually post what we did in June, because we had a LOT of fun.

Auntie Julia came to visit us for the third year in a row (woo hoo!!!!).  We LOVE having Auntie Julia around.  She definitely adds extra flare to the family.  🙂  More about that later.

I wanted to take Auntie Julia to some highland games.  A lot of the little towns have their own highland games and subsequent gala day during the summer.  They all happen on different weekends, so we looked up which games were still to come and ended up going to Glamis Caslte for their games.  Once we got there, I realized that we had been there before.  The kids were really little.  And if I werent so big fat pregnant, I would go upstairs and get the hard drive and show some of those pictures to you.  But I’m not.

Anyway, it was a beautiful day to go and see some highland games.  We were very excited.  We got some great seats and enjoyed the sunshine.

I mean LOOK at that sunshine.  What were our retinas to do with all of that light???

The pipe bands started their rounds.  Which I love love love.

This next one really really cracks me up.  I think that it needs a caption.  If you’ve got one, drop in the comments section.  Maybe you’ll win something fun.  But don’t get your hopes up.  🙂

Some more pipers:

It’s at this point that the skies opened up and the rains.  They came.  And they came hard.  And I mean unusually hard for Scotland.  We rarely ever get just all out downpours, but this.  This was a downpour.  And for extra fun, there was a HUGE thunder storm that accompanied said downpour. Literally, I think that I’ve heard maybe, MAYBE 3 thunderstorms in the past 4 years that we’ve lived here.

So, we ran for shelter under this vendor’s tent.  They were very kind to let us stand under there, as long as we pushed the water off the top of the tent.  Which, I will say, we were really good at.

We waited

and waited

and waited

and waited

for the rain to pass over, like everyone else was.

After about an hour or so, we realized that it just wasn’t going to stop.

So we decided to call it quits along with everyone else.

Nora made herself comfortable.

I left Auntie Julia with the girls and went to find the car. It was quite the hike away.  And I will say that my belly was not covered as my rain coat wouldn’t zip around at that point.  I got absolutely soaked.  I pulled the car closer to the tent, got out to show everyone where I was.  In the process, stepped in a puddle about 4 inches deep full of water and saw dust. Water and saw dust and my rocket dogs…. they don’t mix let me tell you.

Anyway, we made it back to the car, stripped the girls down since they were soaked too.  And went home.  Dumb rain.

6 Comments »

  1. Rebecca said

    I think its so fun that you guys have a wonderful relationship with Julia. She is one great person. Loved see the pics and hearing about the rain. We could use one of those thunderstorms to squelch this heat!

  2. Shelby said

    my bagpipe picture caption:

    “DOH….i poked my pipe with the pipe….”

    🙂

  3. laura said

    Hope, thanks for sharing the photos! Wish I could have come too! Trust you are coming along well with the baby.

  4. Hope said

    Becca, I would be MORE than happy to send you some of our rain! We’ve not seen the sun shine in quite awhile! Though, I don’t miss hot hot hot summer, especially Texas hot. 🙂

    Shelby, LOL.

    Laura, glad you liked them! We had so much fun- it would have been WAY fun if you had been able to come along too. I take it Julia has shown/ told you about the peat. That’s coming in another post…. haha. 🙂

  5. Michelle said

    CAPTION:
    Rory regretted not taking the tums that morning, as he later suffered the discomfort of trapped wind.The spectators ended up seeking shelter from the oncoming gale.

    Im laughing! 🙂 I think that deserves a prize! 😀

    • Hope Mabry said

      HAHAHAHAHAHAHA!!!!!

RSS feed for comments on this post · TrackBack URI

Leave a comment