Jesse Trees and rocks.

(I betcha thought I wasn’t going to fulfill my word.  Well, I have 12 minutes left of this day.)

I have a lot of good friends.  And I could for really write lots of blog posts about my friends.  But today, I want to write about my friend Janna.

I have written about my friend Janna before.

And my friend Janna has a blog here.  Mind you, she hasn’t updated it in literally one year from today.  But that’s okay.  She’s been only slightly busy.  You know, moving across the country and adding another baby to their family.

All in day’s, I mean year’s work.

So, the house that we live in here in Boston is a 3 family home, meaning that it is one big house and each floor is a condo/ apartment.  We live on the bottom and Janna and her family live in the middle.  Oh, and I forgot to mention that Janna’s husband, Donny, works for the church as well.

So It’s totally like a commune.  Sort of.  And I love it.

We didn’t really plan it this way, but that apartment stayed empty for a few months after we moved and whatdyaknow, it was a perfect fit for my best friend.

Here’s one of the reasons why I love my friend Janna.

I called her up tonight (which, I can hear her phone vibrate on her  kitchen table when I call her) to see if she wanted to go to Target with me.   Which she did.  Now, Target trips with me and Janna… they take a long time.  I mean, there’s browsing that has to happen people.

This trip this evening involved me getting the supplies necessary to make a Jesse Tree.

I found my branch today at the playground to use as the tree itself.  I had envisioned a ceramic pot to put the branch in so that I could hang the ornaments on the branch.   Now, the ornaments, I decided needed to be hand painted, because I can’t find any other ones that I like.  So after 25 minutes looking at ornaments, we picked out this jumbo pack of shatter proof ornaments.  That I can paint tomorrow, since Wednesday is the first day of December.

I’m a planner.

We ended up getting a utensil canister for the branch to sit in.  And nowwww we needed something to hold up the branch.  Like some rocks.  Janna’s idea was aquarium rocks.  Target doesn’t have aquarium rocks, but the employee we asked suggested a pet store.

Um, thanks.

We had a short stint on the kitty litter aisle.

But we just couldn’t do it.

We left and had the great idea that we could just find a gravel driveway somewhere and um, borrow some rocks.  We drove around for awhile in the dark looking for rocks.  We tried a nursery.  Their rocks were no good.

We tried a few streets around our house.  No dice.

As we were going down our street, I found this awesome parking spot right close to the house (hard to find when everyone’s home from work!) and BAM, the driveway right next to the parking space was FULL of tiny gravel.

SCORE.

We sat in the car, me and Janna, and plotted how we were going to get these rocks.  I mean, we needed a lot of rocks, right???  In the end, we decided to place our target bags (and my jumbo box of ornaments) close to the driveway (which was blocked by a closed gate) and look as if we had dropped something on the ground as we scooped up rocks.

After mustering up the courage to borrow these rocks (which, it was 10:00, we probably didn’t have too much to worry about), we executed our plan.  As Janna was getting the last few bags, I started to fill up the canister by reaching a little bit under the gate. By the time Janna got the last bag, she said,

“Here, scoot it over here so that I can help you.”

But by then I was already done.

Yeah, spatial recognition fail…  it only took like 3 handfuls of gravel.  And we barely had to scrape the surrounded gravel around the place we um, borrowed from (which, don’t get all uppity, I fully intend on returning these rocks on precisely December 26th).

And then Janna threw her hands up and said,

“Wow, that was so anti-climatic.”

So that’s one of the reason why I love my friend Janna (amongst many other reasons that are more substantial).  Who else would I be with at 10:00 on a Monday night looking for gravel to put in a kitchen utensil canister?

2 Comments »

  1. Kristin Sheffield said

    Love it!!! You guys are awesome 🙂 Miss you!

  2. Janna said

    Hahahahaha!! What fun! No one else but you, my friend! 🙂

RSS feed for comments on this post · TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

