On Your Birthday

We snuggled in bed before breakfast.  Your hair smelled like burt’s bees shampoo.

You ate 3 pancakes, some pear, and 2 handfuls of cheerios for breakfast.

8890bw

You wore robot pajamas.

You sounded a little raspy because you were getting over a cold.

You sat at the table while me and your sisters made your birthday cupcakes.

8908bw

8910bw

Your sisters gave you great big kisses.

We laughed over the fact that every time we tell you say, “Mama, ” you say, “Dada,” even though you can say about 10 other words.

Memmie made you an owl t shirt (for your owl themed party).

We wrapped your presents.

I laughed that your first birthday pictures would have no little teeth in your grin.  Maybe you’ll get some teeth soon?

We hung the birthday banner and the stuffed owls memmie and me made.

I wanted to crawl into the fetal position as I said goodbye to your babyhood looked forward to the next stage of your little life.

(I really do look forward to the next stage).

8966

8963

You took a long nap while I made you owl cupcakes and and owl cake that was all for you.

Our Portugese landlords woke you up from your nap while they were making wine in the basement.

I got you out of your crib and snuggled with you in the red rocking chair in your room.

You fell asleep for a few moments with your face snuggled into my neck.

I thought about packing up the receiving blankets in the basket on the changing table to make room for your new trains.

I sent your dad out twice to get supplies for the cupcakes.  We needed more oreos the second time.

I got you dressed in the outfit that me and Memmie picked out just for you.

9149

You wore your new yellow converse shoes.

8977

You reached for the owls hanging in the doorway.

9076

9094

We took pictures of you outside.  You love to walk along the chain link fence- something you’ve never done before.

Memmie and I laughed at what you did when we put your birthday hat on.  You leaned your head way back to try and see it.

9084

9115

Aaralyn said, “Happy Birthday Cole!” from the upstairs window while we were taking pictures.

Daddy fed you pizza instead of letting you feed yourself so that you wouldn’t get food on  your birthday clothes.

9172

9166

9170

We invited the Fishers and 3 girls from church over to sing happy birthday to you and eat cupcakes.

9178

You cried when we put the birthday hat on you before we sang happy birthday. We ended up taking it off.

9184

You clapped and said, “Yay!” when we sang happy birthday to you.

We took your shirts off when it was time for you to eat cake.

9204

We gave you your owl cake and you didn’t know what to do with the chocolate frosting (at first).

9221

9223

You made the biggest mess you’ve ever made while you were eating your cake.

9225

Your belly lapped over jeans.

I helped you open your presents.

Your sisters drooled over your new train set.

We said goodbye to your guests.

Daddy gave you a bath.

Aunt Janna and I tried to make sense of the trains.

I set up the tracks and dreamed of playing trains with you.

You came crawling in the room in your doggy waffle weave pajamas.  Your belly was huge from all of that cake.

You fell asleep in my arms while we were rocking in the red chair in your room.

I lowered you into your bed.  You were so tired that your arms dangled to the sides of you.

I shut the door, realizing that time moves on faster than I even realize.

20 Comments »

  1. Grace said

    You are beautiful, Hope. Can’t wait to see you!! : )

  2. Janna said

    His birthday was soo much fun! I am sooooooooo thankful that we were able to celebrate with him this year! It is such a blessing to be up here next to you and your family! We love you all!!!

    And, btw….that boy can EAT!!! 🙂

  3. Missie said

    wahhhhh!!!!!!!! that makes me happy and sad!!!

  4. Cindy B said

    He looks eatable :O) ~ too cute. :

  5. Kristin Sheffield said

    Love it!!! He is such a handsome little man!

  6. He is adorable! I love his yellow shoes! First birthdays are always bittersweet, I think. Gosh, time sure does go by fast. I can’t believe he’s one already! You did an awesome job on his owl cupcakes and cake. it sure looks like he liked it. Happy Birthday Cole.

  7. Nameka said

    Loved this, Hope. 🙂 Ahhh, this babyhood of theirs is far too fleeting, huh? 😦 It definitely gets more and more fun as they age, but we mamas wouldn’t mind holding onto infancy just a bit longer! Precious little guy you’ve got there, lady. His celebration looked like it was a ball! (By the way, as a Chucks-a-holic, I am loving the little bright yellow ones on Cole. 🙂 Isn’t it fun mushing little baby feet into those things? ;P)

  8. melinda said

    bawling right now. 😦 i wish they stayed little longer. i really do.

  9. jackie1983 said

    What a beautiful memoir of the day! Cake pics = FAVE! And those cupcakes turned out uh-dorable! Well done Mama Owl 🙂

  10. Hope Mabry said

    I know, Melinda. I’m right there with you.

  11. YaYa said

    What a sweet re-cap of this special day! The pictures are wonderful, can’t wait to see all of you soon!!!

  12. Julia House said

    I cannot believe he is a year old. oh my! and getting about on his own!

  13. Nuna said

    Sooooooooo cute Hope!! Loved reading this post and seeing your beautiful family in the pictures. Love the owl party too. Great shots of it all! God bless you guys. 🙂 And a late happy birthday to little Cole!

  14. Kristie said

    Sorry that last comment says Nuna cause that’s what my sisters kids call me and I typed that in the last time I commented and so it just used it this time without me noticing. Oops!

  15. Kristie said

    Ok so now it erased my first comment and my second one doesn’t make sense. So scratch that second one. 🙂 Loved this post and all the great pictures. His little owl party was too cute and so is he!! God bless you guys!

  16. emily said

    this may very well be my most favorite birthday post of all time. and i’ve never even met your sweet baby. he is precious, and i am so glad you are enjoying him. love you guys.

    • Hope Mabry said

      Aw, thanks, Emily. 🙂 Love you guys too. 🙂 Number 4 should be just around the corner, eh?

  17. Cindy said

    Hope this was the most touching blog I have ever read! You have a great way with words and pictures. I absolutely adored every bit of it and you had me in tears. Thanks for sharing your beautiful family with us and your adventures as a church planting wife. Love you!

  18. Caroline said

    I just happened to just now see this post and it made me cry a little. I’m kind of emotional lately. Thanks for sharing, Hope. You are awesome.

  19. Christine Chen Zinner said

    Hope, Thought about you tonight and checked your blog to see what was up. You are so talented and creative! What gorgeous pictures — the color, the clarity, the subject matter, the atmosphere — everything. I was so touched to read about Cole’s birthday. What a beautiful entry. I also got a little scared about Kai when I read that Cole knew how to say 12 words by 1 year. Kai is 11 months and can only say mama and dada (and I don’t think he’s completely clear on who is who). But then I checked baby milestones, and see that this is pretty normal. Which means that Cole is pretty darn amazing for his age! Thank you for sharing all this beauty with us. Please continue keeping us updated!

RSS feed for comments on this post · TrackBack URI

Leave a comment